Testimonials

MARCY BRAFMAN, Artist
I met David Gibson in 2000 having been referred to him by my good friend and colleague the painter Lisa Stefanelli. A friend in the Digital Design community Rosemary Flannery had introduced me to Lisa after I told her that I was determined to make a go of a serious painting career having spent some time in a successful Broadcast Design career. I contacted David and was surprised to get a quick response where we scheduled a studio visit. Glad I was in town that Memorial Day Weekend!. We had an amazing studio visit where I was struck by his insight and critical depth. His grasp on my work gave me a handle on my own practice that was invaluable. Our conversations to this day really make me think. I have been honored to be included in many of David’s curated exhibitions. I have included his critical essay on my work on my website. I have also been glad to participate in PlaySpace Magazine which opened my thinking to project and art journalism. Everyone I know in the Art World and everything I have done I can trace directly back to David Gibson.

 

JENNY CARPENTER, Artist

I first met David in 2004. I was working in advertising as an art director and also held a studio practice in my tiny apartment in the West Village. A mutual friend suggested I contact David for a studio visit. David was incredibly insightful and gracious. He helped me, as a shy artist, to articulate the meaning of my own work and become more resourceful with the goal of getting my work out there. He offered historical references as well as contemporary ones to my work and provided constructive opinions. Since that time, David and I have worked on several projects together. He has included me in group shows in Manhattan and Brooklyn. He continues to encourage and inform my work. He is passionate as well as greatly knowledgeable. His instincts are spot on and he is incredibly supportive. I owe a good bit to David for his guidance throughout the years and credit him in giving me the confidence to show my work. I highly recommend David’s expertise as both a curator and a writer. 


AMY CHAIKLIN, Artist
David Gibson is a prolific writer and curator with a wealth of art world knowledge. I met David Gibson in 1998 at John Gibson Gallery in SoHo. As a visual artist I was freelance writing for NYArts Magazine. David told me that he edited and published an online magazine called Article. When David Gibson was curating his first group exhibition, Sugar+Spice (2000) he visited my studio. Since then David has visited my studio when choosing my work for ten group exhibitions, most notably ID_Entity at NURTUREart, Brooklyn (2003), Beautiful Dreamer at SPACES in Cleveland (2006), and My Heroes at Jack the Pelican Presents (2009). For several years David Gibson was the director of Realform Project Space, a small storefront window art gallery on Bedford Avenue in Brooklyn for which David curated 40 monthly solo exhibitions for artists, including an installation of my works on paper titled Portals of Truth (2003). Another of David Gibson’s projects is the artist lecture series Real Art Today, for which I participated in 2006. David Gibson has written many catalogue essays for artists, and in 2011 I hired David Gibson to write the catalogue essay for my solo exhibition Womania at Wandergalerie, Barcelona, Spain, as he has an in-depth understanding of my figurative painting. Since 2000 David has curated over 130 exhibitions while continually publishing his critical writing in many national and international art magazines. I highly recommend David Gibson as an experienced and professional writer and curator.


VINCENT CINIGLIO, Artist
I have known David Gibson for almost ten years, ever since a friend brought him to my studio. David spoke enthusiastically and knowledgeably about painting, the art world, and art in general. We discussed his writing and curating activities and his ideas for future exhibitions. David has a curatorial mind--he is able to see and establish connections among a variety of contemporary art forms. I have seen David relentlessly pursue exhibition venues and opportunities for independent artists. I've participated in several of David's exhibitions and have found them to be professionally handled and well-received.


ALICIA GIBSON, Artist
It is my pleasure to write a few words on behalf of David Gibson (no relation). I've known David for several years, he has been a true supporter throughout this time. I first met David in about 2009, when he showed many of my watercolor cut outs in Williamsburg. He has always been a smart curator, offering constructive criticism as needed. The second time we met he curated my paintings into a show in the lower east side. It was a great line-up with some others art that has stayed with me to this day. I know his endeavors go well beyond curatorial and he is a writer as well as much more.

 

GOLDIE GROSS, Artist

David Gibson was invaluable in the writing of my artist’s statement. I hardly knew the importance of having one before I met him, and I left the workshop with enough inspiration to write three. I am confident that meeting David was a game-changer, and I now feel properly prepared to advance my career.

ANNE LAPRADE SEUTHE, Director of Hampden Gallery, University of Massachusetts in Amherst

David Gibson is unparalleled in his passion and commitment to curating contemporary art. Over the past twenty years, David  has brought a number of thought provoking, high caliber exhibitions to Hampden Gallery at the University of Massachusetts. His role as Curator in Residence has resulted in a rich network among New England and NY artists, which continues to grow and thrive. He's the real deal!

 

SEREN MOREY, Artist

I first met David Gibson at Bushwick Open Studios a number of years ago.  He expressed interest in my work and encouraged me to follow up with him which I subsequently did.  Following our initial meeting David invited me to participate in some of his group shows at locations such as Trestle Gallery in Brooklyn and Station Independent Projects in NYC.  David has also been a successful dealer for some of my larger paintings which have found homes in private collections.  David has a wide knowledge of art and I have felt fortunate to have him be so supportive of my work.  I look forward to working with him again in the future.


LEAH OATES, Director of Station Independent Projects

I have known David Gibson for many years now and have followed his curating and art writing with interest over this time frame. David is steadfast, astute and is a brilliant curator and writer. I opened a gallery approximately five years ago on the Lower East Side in NYC and immediately invited David to curate shows at my gallery Station Independent Projects. He has curated two shows at Station Independent Projects thus far both of which were excellent conceptually and visually and he will be curating a third show at the gallery in October 2017. I wanted to work with David, as he is professional, his shows are striking and timeless and he is a professional on all levels. I highly recommend David Gibson to other galleries, museums and art non-profits who are looking to work with talented independent curators like David and to artists that are looking for professional advice, promotion or to connect with a true professional who knows the art business inside and out.

 
JOHN O'BRIEN, Artist
I met David Gibson in the mid-2000’s through mutual friends and since I had an LA based practice I contacted David for advice about getting into the cycles of the art world in NY. He was very kind on the phone and agreed to meet with me. Over coffee, in his distinctively generous way, David shared his thoughts and advice about how to work on that idea as a west coast artist. Later, in what became ongoing exchanges, he offered to include my artwork in an exhibition he was curating with Jennifer Junkermeier and which went on to be exhibited in 2 different venues. So David was then, as he continues to be now, a great ally, a notable source of specific knowledge and shared opportunities for serious arts practitioners and he cares about the broader context for all our work and knows how to how to help others in their projects.

WALTER O'NEILL, former Director of Educational Alliance Art School and Rubenstein Gallery

Between 2002 and 2009 David Gibson organized six outstanding exhibitions for the Educational Alliance, Ernest Rubenstein Gallery.  The exhibits brought high quality contemporary art to the general public of the Educational Alliance Art School and community center.  These exhibits dramatically increased the visibility of the Educational Alliance attracting hundreds of people to openings as well as putting this community gallery on the map of the burgeoning Lower East Side art scene.   The underlying concepts of the exhibits were timely and might not have been understood by the general public, but David selected artwork that was visually appealing to a broad audience. The exhibits included: Better Half, Beauty's Burden, Made in the USA, Squared, VOID, and Some are Painting II. Many of the then-emerging artists that David exhibited are now established artists. 

LEEMOUR PELLI, Artist

I have known David Gibson for over 15 years. David is an extremely knowledgeable and highly intelligent art consultant, art critic and writer, and Curator of Contemporary Art. I first met David back in 1999-2000 when he first started curating shows, and he has been working extensively in this realm since that time. David has shown my work in many exhibitions that he has curated in many different venues over the years. Some of the exhibitions that David curated were in New York City and others were outside of the New York area as well. He also wrote a catalog for a solo exhibition that I had at the University of Central Florida in Orlando in 2003, and has often promoted my work in various capacities. I would highly recommend David for any art related work. He is extremely well-versed in the art lexicon of the contemporary art world.

JANELL TURNER, Artist
I met David Gibson in 2013 at a show he curated for Trestle Gallery in Brooklyn. Then, I attended his seminar called “How to Have a Statement” for emerging artists. Articulate and insightful, David Gibson proved to be a valuable resource. I subsequently earned an MFA through the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Through intelligent discussions and studio visits, he articulated connections within my work to a larger art historical context. As a curator and writer, David Gibson is eloquently perceptive and offers a great deal of beneficial expertise. 

2021

January 8-February 8: MARJORIE VAN CURA: UNKNOWN TERRITORIES

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

2020

December 1-December 29, 2020: THOMAS FRONTINI THE ONE CALLED ARTIST

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

December 1-December 29, 2020: GREG LETSON INNOCENT PICTURES

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

October 27-November 24, 2020: BERNICE SOKOL KRAMER MY MASK IS YOUR MIRROR

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

October 27-November 24, 2020: TOM WARREN INFINITE VIEW

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

September 22-October 20: MARGOT SPINDELMAN TORN

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

August 18-September 15: TIM MAXWELL DIMENSIONAL NARRATIVES

Online exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

April 6-June 6: THE OBLIQUE

Chuck Agro, Carol Bruns, Vincent Ciniglio, Georgia  Elrod, Thomas  Frontini,

Greg Letson, Jeremy Olson, Rhonda Wall, Margaret Ann Withers, Becky Yazdan

Online Exhibition: Gibson Contemporary

2017

October 6-October 29: BILL DURGIN Figure As Ground

Station Independent Projects, New York   

February 5-February 26: THICKET

Peter Bonner, Dianne Bowen, Claire Corey, Roya Farassat, Kylie Heidenheimer, Seren Morey, Sophie Plimpton, Richard Rivera, Becky Yazdan, Raphael Zollinger

Station Independent Projects, New York

2016

May 11-June 5: PHOTO-FINISH

Kristin Anderson, Christine Callahan, Bill Durgin, Holly Lynton

Station Independent Projects, New York

January 8-February 7: THE ANGEL OF HISTORY

Michael Alan, Michele Basora, Vincent Ciniglio, Roya Farassat, Gentleman's Game, Norma Minkowitz, Alfred Steiner

Station Independent Projects, New York

2014

May 23-July 2: ITNESS

Madora Frey, Nicola Ginzel, Heide Hatry, Seren Morey, Fawn Krieger

Trestle Gallery, Brooklyn

April 10-May 9: THE PRESENCE OF ABSENCE

Michele Basora, Patty Cateura, Marcella Hackbardt, Jen Hitchings, Iris Klein, Paul Loughney, Dean Monogenis, Raphael Zollinger

Skylight Gallery, 538 West 29th Street, New York

2013

October 24-November 30: EARTHWARD

Alysha Colangeli, Elisabeth Condon, Thomas Frontini. Charles Koegel, Sandy Litchfield 

Skylight Gallery, 538 West 29th Street, New York
 
May 22-June 23: IN THE ZONE

Jenny Carpenter, Carrie Elston-Tunick, Marcella Hackbardt, Sandy Litchfield, Karen Marston, Rachelle Mozman, Julie Schenkelberg, Mary Ann Strandell 

Station Independent Projects, 164 Suffolk Street, New York, New York
 
March 1-March 31: I AM MY WORLD

Samira Abbassy, Christina Dallas, Heidi Elbers, Pippip Ferner, Lisa A. Foster, Hilde Frantzen, Jenny Granberry, Sol Kjok, Pia Krabberod, Hanne Lydia O. Kristoffersen, Hanne Lillee, Elisabeth Feroy Lund, Matthew Lusk, Rebecca Morgan, Leemour Pelli, Mark Power, Margreta Stølen, Sara Tandero and Tine Isachsen, John Tomlinson, Sarah Vogwill 
NOoSphere Arts, 251 East Houston Street, New York 

2012

November 30-January 13: THE QUANTUM EFFECT

Jonathan Feldschuh, MaDora Frey, Thomas Frontini, Carter Hodgkin, Elissa Levy, Anne Arden McDonald, Jeanne Tremel, Michael Zansky  

The Active Space, 566 Johnson Avenue, Brooklyn, New York
 

June 22-28: THE PUBLIC SECRET 3: Meghann Snow, Tine Kindermann, Katherine Daniels

June 15-June 21: THE PUBLIC SECRET 2: Amanda Browder, Megan Hays, Rachel Dwan
June 8-14: THE PUBLIC SECRET: Marcy Brafman, Carrie Elston Tunick, Lindsay Packer 

Dino Eli Gallery, 81 Hester Street, New York


February 26-March 29: MICHAEL ZANSKY American Panopticon

Hampden Gallery, Fine Arts Center, University of Massachusetts Amherst

2011

April 7-May 17, 2011: PAINTING WITH PICTURES 2

Sarah Bliss, Marcy Brafman, Amanda Browder, Elisabeth Condon, Vince Contarino, Beata Drozd, Gabert Farrar, Sophia Flood, Alicia Gibson, Chambliss Giobbi, Rachael Gorchov, Susan Hamburger, Deb Karpman, Yuliya Lanina, Liz-N-Val, Paul Loughney, Cybele Lyle, Norma Markley, Christina Massey, Joel Morrison, Mary Murphy, Guy Nelson, Jeremy Olson, Steve Page, Leemour Pelli, Lilliana Pereira, Mary Pinto, Mark Power, Grace Roselli, Hagar Sadan, Pierre St. Jacques, Meghann Snow, Claudia Sperry, Margie Steinmann, Ginna Triplett 

ARTJAIL, 50 Eldridge Street, New York

2010

October 14-November 13: LOST HORIZON

Erik Benson, John Berens, Monika Bravo, Eduardo Cervantes, Sally Curcio, Jonathan Feldschuh, Laura Harrison, Madeleine Hatz, Jeff Konigsberg, Michelle Mackey, Dana Melamed, Dean Monogenis, Ross Racine, Asya Reznikov, Kristen Schiele, Kimberly Sexton, Philip Simmons, Mary Ann Strandell, Miryana Todorova, Michael Zansky, J.G. Zimmerman 

ARTJAIL, 50 Eldridge Street, New York

August 7-August 21: ABSTRACT INTENTIONS curated with Keren Moscovitch

Christie Blizard and Steven Page, Orla Campbell, Bill Durgin, Stephanie Halmos, Emily Henretta, Cate Holt, Daniel Kayne, Mary Murphy, Cadine Navarro, Madison Omahne and Miryana Todorova, Max Razdow, Adrianne Rubenstein, Hagar Sadan, Pam Saturday, Jennifer Shepard, Gabriel Shuldiner, Meg Thompson, Tyler Vipond, Sarah Vollman, Cay Yoon

The School of Visual Arts, 141 West 21st Street, New York

 

July 8-August 5: SOME (ARE) PAINTING THREE

Peggy Bates, Barbara Campisi, Sean Greene, Halsey Hathaway, Ian Hughes, Cate Holt, Madeleine Hatz, Tricia Keightley, Jesse Lambert, Michelle Mackey, John Mullen, Hendrik Smit, Claudia Sperry, Tim Walsh

532 Gallery Thomas Jackel, 532 West 25th Street, New York


2010 May 21-July 21, 2010: PAINTING WITH PICTURES 

Michael Anderson, Melissa Barrett, Chris Bors, Lesly Canossi, Amelie Chunleau, Nancy Drew, Chris Fennell, Carla Gannis, Liam Hanna-Lloyd, Halsey Hathaway, Daniel Kayne, Scott Kiernan, Isolde Kille, Elissa Levy, D. Dominick Lombardi, Hector Madera-Gonzalez, Leah Oates, Sarah Olson, Deborah Pohl, Alexander Reyna, Elizabeth Riley, Ron Rocheleau, Pam Saturday, Raven Schlossberg, Kaeko Shabana, Jennifer Shepard, Mary Ann Strandell thefactory101, Austin Thomas, Conrad Vogel, Michael Zansky

Curated with Savannah Spirit and Asya Geisberg 

Casita Maria Center for Arts and Education, 928 Simpson Street, Bronx
 

May 8-June 22: TWO-WAY MIRROR

Joan Dix Blair, Meredith Broberg, Victoria Burge, Anne Burton, Victoria Calabro, Amy Chaiklin, Peggy Cyphers, Anita Hunt, Louise Kohrman, Jolynn Krystosek, Lilly Periera, Joyce Silverstone, Claudia Sperry, Fumiko Toda, Nancy Van Deren, Carolyn Webb 

Zea Mays Printmaking, Florence, Massachusetts

April 16-May 8: THE BACK ROOM BIENNIAL curated with Lynn Del Sol, Linda Griggs, Jennifer Junkermeier, Savannah Spirit

Tom Bogaert, Marcy Brafman, Sally Curcio, Gabert Farrar, Amy Greenfield, Debra Jenks, Moira McDonald, Annysa Ng, Kaeko Shabana, Michael Zansky 

LZ Project Space/NY Studio Gallery, 154 Stanton Street, New York
 

2009

September 12-October 31:I'D LIKE TO TEACH THE WORLD TO...PLAY!

Dianne Bowen, Marcy Brafman, Jennifer Burbank, Amy Chaiklin, Vincent Ciniglio, Barrie Cline, Katherine Daniels, Moira McDonald, Mary Ann Strandell, Meg Thompson 

Brooklyn Artillery, 114 Troutman Street, Brooklyn
 

September 10-October 29: BETTER HALF curated with Jeffrey Rakien Nomura

Chris Bors and  Ketta  Ioannidou, Jennifer Burbank and Chris Coffin, Daniel Davidson and Tricia Keightley, Linda Ganjian and Jesse Lambert Liz-N-Val, LoVid, Donald Porcaro and  Leslie Wayne 

Manny Cantor Center/Educational Alliance, 197 E Broadway, New York
 

July 9-July 31: PAPER IN THE WIND THREE

Rosa Almeida, Marcy Brafman, Zac Braun, Amy Chaiklin, Chrissy Conant, Veronica Cross, Roya Farassatt, Alicia Gibson, James Gilroy, Ian Hughes, Liz Insogna, Yuliya Lanina, D. Dominick Lombardi, Sandra Mack-Valencia, Norma Markley, Jesse McCloskey, John Monteith, Mary Murphy, Mark Power, Grace Roselli, Mary Ann Strandell, Adam Thompson, Ginna Triplett, Chris Twomey, Kathleen Vance, Ruth Waldman, Deborah Wasserman 

532 Gallery Thomas Jackel, 532 West 25th Street, New York
 

June 26-July 12: MY HEROES

Zac Braun, Amy Chaiklin, Alicia Gibson, James Gilroy, Rebecca Goyette, Scott Kiernan, Tine Kindermann, Liz-N-Val, Rachelle Mozman, Grace Roselli, Rosemary Taylor 

Jack The Pelican Presents, 487 Driggs Avenue, Brooklyn
 

2008

January 30-March 1: SIGHT MAPPING curated with Trevor Richardson

David Brody, Joomi Chung, Diana Cooper, Vernon Fisher, Richard Garrison, Emily Ginsburg, Barry Le Va, Mark Lombardi, Marco Maggi, Dominic McGill, Rebecca Riley, Jane South, Danielle Tegeder, Dan Zeller

Herter Gallery, Department of Fine Arts, University of Massachusetts Amherst

November 8-December 7: TALENT SHOW co-juried with Klaus Postler

Cortney Andrews, Matt Bollinger, Liz Chalfin, Willson Cummer, Lisa Elmaleh, Meghan Gordon, Asia Ingalls, Deb Karpman, Sara Klar, Elizabeth Kellogg, Jamie M. Lee, Dot Szemiot, Ruth Waldman, Angela Zamarelli  

Hampden Gallery, Fine Arts Center, University of Massachusetts Amherst
 

October 16-November 9: PEGGY BATES Barachois

532 Gallery Thomas Jackel, 532 West 25th Street, New York


September 18–October 28: BEAUTY’S BURDEN curated with Jennifer Junkermeier

Bethany Bristow, Bonnie Collura, Gabert Farrar, Limor Gasko, Scott Kiernan, Karen Marston, John O’Brien, Sono Osato, Meridith Pingree, Richard Schort, Fumiko Toda

Manny Cantor Center/Educational Alliance, 197 E Broadway, New York
 

September 4-September 29: JOHN BERENS and ABSHALOM JAC LAHAV Boundless

532 Gallery Thomas Jackel, 532 West 25th Street, New York
 

August 9-September 7: PAPER IN THE WIND TWO

Susan Breitsch, Caroline Burton, Amy Chaiklin, Veronica Cross, Katherine Daniels, Alicia Gibson, Isolde Kille, Jac Lahav, Yuliya Lanina, Norma Markley, Mary Murphy, Sandra Mack, Geoffrey Miller, Grace Roselli 

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn.
 

July 5-August 3: PAPER IN THE WIND

Christie Blizard, Jordan Buschur, Gulsen Calik, Cathleen Cueto, Sophia Flood, Deb Karpman, Sarah Olson, Steve Page, Richard Schort, Jenn Sitron, Austin Thomas, Fumiko Toda, Kathleen Vance 

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn


May 15-June 15: MARCY BRAFMAN Truth or Consequences

532 GalleryThomas Jackel, 532 East 25th Street, New York.

March 27-April 20: DAVID ASKEVOLD and PETER HUTCHINSON

532 Gallery Thomas Jackel, 532 West 25th Street, New York
 

February 4-March 4: LOST HORIZON

Erik Benson, John Berens, Romain Erkiletlian, Michelle Hailey, Laura Harrison, Elizabeth Huey, Rebecca Kolsrud, Jeff Konigsberg,

Michelle Mackey, Dana Melamed, Dean Monogenis, Asya Reznikov, Kristen Schiele, Kimberly Sexton, Mary Ann Strandell

Herter Gallery, Department of  Fine Arts, University of Massachusetts Amherst
 

Jan 18-Feb 10: TRUE TO FORM

Marcy Brafman, Jenny Carpenter, Mary Murphy

532 Gallery Thomas Jackel, 532 East 25th Street, New York.

2007

September 18-November 23: MADE IN THE USA

Shelly Bahl, Ula Einstein, Nancy Friedemann, Tine Kindermann, Chang-jin Lee, Juri Morioka, Hannes Priesch, Flavia Souza, Yona Verwer.

Manny Cantor Center/Educational Alliance, 197 East Broadway, New York.

June 29-August 19, 2007: GARDEN CONFRONTATIONS

Victoria Calabro, Chrissy Conant, Julianna Dail, Katherine Daniels, Mark Power

Dam Stuhltrager Gallery, 38 Marcy Avenue, Brooklyn

June 29-August 19: KAREN MARSTON Breathing Room

Dam Stuhltrager Gallery, 38 Marcy Avenue, Brooklyn


May 19-July 21: BY INVITATION ONLY

Marcy Brafman, Leemour Pelli, Mark Power, Raven Schlossberg, Conrad Vogel

Kinz, Tillou and Feigen, 529 West 20th Street, New York

March 6-June 30, 2007: SIGNS OF LIFE

Jeanine Anthony, Jordan Buschur, Jamie Chiarello, Langdon Graves, Jesse Martin, John Monteith, Jac Lahav, Jeremy Olson, Purdy Eaton, Colette Robbins

Planet Thailand, 133 North 7th Street, Brooklyn

January 6-February 1: TWILIGHT TIME

Jamie Chiarello, Emmanuelle Gauthier, Liz Insogna, Michael Norkin, Jeremy Olson, Deborah Pohl, Grace Roselli, Michael Schall, Conrad Vogel

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

 

2006

December 6-January 11: SQUARED

Peter Barrett, Caroline Burton, Jeff Feld, Danielle Mysliwiec, Keiko Narahashi, Mary Ann Strandell, Bradley Wester, John Zinsser
Manny Cantor Center/Educational Alliance, 197 East Broadway, New York

 

September 27-October 21: SUSAN HAMBURGER/CONRAD VOGEL Recent Work

Allen Priebe Gallery, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

September 21-October 29: THE RAW AND THE COOKED
Victoria Calabro, Katherine Daniels, Marilla Palmer, Anna Pedersen, Mark Power, Diana Puntar, Carol Salmanson, Gae Savannah
Central and Hampden Galleries, Fine Arts Center, University of Massachusetts Amherst

 

July 7-August 20: REBECCA HACKEMANN Peek

Dabora Gallery, 1080 Manhattan Avenue, Brooklyn

 

April 8-May 21: THE SOCIAL BODY

Kristin Anderson, Sandra Bermudez, Fritz Chesnut, Feral Childe, Carla Gannis, Morgan Hughes, Jennifer Karady, Holly Lynton, Leemour Pelli, Alexander Reyna,

Raven Schlossberg, Diana Shpungin and Nicole Engelmann

Rocket Projects, 3440 North Miami Avenue, Miami

March 24-April 29: NATIVE SPIRIT

Michael Anderson, Amy Beecher, Marcy Brafman, Andrew Chesler, Molly Crabapple, Georgia Elrod, Jonathan Feldschuh, Limor Gasko, Sara Klar, Liz Magic Laser, Susan Lipper, Dean Monogenis, Andrea Morganstern, Leemour Pelli, Rick Prol, Diana Puntar, Grace Roselli, Dan Rosenbaum, Debra Steckler, Emma Tapley, Ruth Waldman.
Supreme Trading, 213 North 8th Street, Brooklyn

 

March 1-March 30: HOME BASE curated with Anat Litwin

Diane Apostolacus, Marcy Brafman, Robert Grant, Mark Power

126 Greenpoint Avenue, Brooklyn

 

January 6-February 12: GAE SAVANNAH A Fool and his Froth Are Soon Parted

Dam Stuhltrager Gallery, 38 Marcy Avenue, Brooklyn

2005

September 9–October 21: BEAUTIFUL DREAMER

Peggy Bates, Sandra Bermudez, Amy Chaiklin, Maureen Connor, Katherine Daniels, Michelle Dicello, Jonathan Feldschuh, Carla Gannis, Tara Giannini, Marcella Hackbardt, Elizabeth Huey, Kim Keever, Craig Kucia, Liz-N-Val, Karen Marston, Dean Monogenis, Russell Nachman, Anna Pedersen, Leemour Pelli, Mark Power, Alexander Reyna, Tim Rollins, Gae Savannah, Raven Schlossberg, Drew Shiflett, Mary Ann Strandell, Conrad Vogel, Ruth Waldman

SPACES Inc, 2220 Superior Viaduct, Cleveland, Ohio

 

June 10-July 23: EVERLAND

Peggy Bates, Erik Benson, Sandra Bermudez, Nancy Friedemann, Linda Ganjian, Kim Keever, Dean Monogenis, Russell Nachman, Mark Power, Raven Schlossberg, Ruth Waldman.

Annina Nosei Gallery, 530 West 22nd Street, New York

 
April 1–May 1: CULTURE VULTURE

Sandra Bermudez, Marcy Brafman, David Henry Brown Jr, Amie Cunningham, Katherine Daniels, Emanuelle Gauthier, Susan Hamburger, Karen Heagle, Elizabeth Huey

Dean Monogenis, Russell Nachman, Diana Puntar, Alexander Reyna, Gae Savannah, Raven Schlossberg, Philip Simmons, Cindy Tower, Ginna Triplett, Conrad Vogel
Jack The Pelican Presents, 487 Driggs Avenue, Brooklyn

 

January 21–February 20: CINDY TOWER Road Show

Realform  Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

January 12–March 27: LOST IN PLACE

Aillinn Brennan, Patty Cateura, Mariestella Colon-Astacio, Karen Marston, Juri Morioka, John Mullen, Carol Salmanson

Planet Thailand, 133 North 7th Street, Brooklyn

 

2004

December 17, 2004–January 16, 2005: KIM CONNERTON Nico

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

November 12–December 12, 2004: KRISTIN ANDERSON The Block Where I Grew Up / FLAVIA SOUZA Struggle In Paradise

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

September 23–October 24: INTIMACY

Sandra Bermudez, China Blue, Kim Connerton, Annette Cyr, Jen Denike, Carla Gannis, Elizabeth Hendler, Amy Jenkins,

Jennifer Karady, Alexis Karl, Norma Markley, Leemour Pelli, Gae Savannah, Raven Schlossberg, Roxanne Wolanczyk
Brooklyn Fire Proof, 101 Richardson Street, Brooklyn

 

September 16–October 14: DIANA SHPUNGIN AND NICOLE ENGELMANN Second Generation Ego

Hampden and Central Galleries, Fine Arts Center, University of Massachusetts Amherst
 

September 3–October 3:  LIZ-N-VAL Downpour

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn


June 24-July 31: BEAUTIFUL GROTESQUE curated with Anjali Suneja

Reed Anderson, Hans Bellmer, Jeanne Dunning, Philip Guston, Mike Kelley, Tony Matelli, David Nicholson, Leemour Pelli, Andres Serrano, Ginna Triplett, Joel-Peter Witkin

Riva Gallery, 529 West 20th Street, New York

 

June 18-July 25: NATASHA SWEETEN A Mini Retrospective 

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

June 13-August 1: VISIONARIES curated with Anat Litwin

Miriam Cabessa, Offri Cnaani, Zachary Harris, Raffael Lomas

Makor-Steinhardt Center of the 92nd Street Y, 35 West 67th Street, New York
 

May 26–June 26: LEEMOUR PELLI From The Heart

Annina Nosei Galllery, 530 West 22nd Street, New York

May 15-July 26: MARKET VALUE

Kristin Anderson, Marcy Brafman, David Henry Brown Jr, Heidi Cody, Rainer Ganahl, Susan Hamburger, Marni Kotak, Lisa Levy, Daniel Mirer, Ester Partegas, Alexander Reyna, Tom Schreiber.

Cuchifritos Art Space, 120 Essex Street, New York
 

May 7-June 13: LAURA FAYER Rapt

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

April 27-June 6: B-LONGING curated with Anat Litwin

Janice Caswell, Ralph Hassard, Deborah Wasserman

Makor-Steinhardt Center of the 92nd Street Y, 35 West 67th Street, New York

April 2-May 2: MARCY BRAFMAN Negative Reciprocal

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

February 13-March 21: CAROLINE BURTON Window Works

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

February 5-March 20: VOID

John Beech, Erik Benson, John Berens, Janice Caswell, Takuya Chikushi, Tamara Gayer, Claire Moore, Patrick Meagher and Dave Shim, John Mullen, Lizzie Scott, Jenny Vogel, Mark Woods.

Manny Cantor Center/Educational Alliance, 197 East Broadway, New York

 

January 31-February 28: AILLINN BRENNAN Dystopian Paintings

Lifespace Gallery, Long Island City, New York

January 9-February 8: MICHAEL NORKIN Varying Expanses

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

2003

December 5–January 4: AMY CHAIKLIN Portals of Truth

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

November 21-January 7: ERWIN REDL Light Installations and Drawings

Riva Gallery, 529 West 20th Street, New York

 

October 24-November 30: CYNTHIA HARTLING Paintings

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

September 19-November 16: ID_ENTITY 

Sandra Bermudez, Amy Chaiklin, Chrissy Conant, Veronica Cross, Carla Gannis, Tina La Porta, Joan Linder, Norma Markley, Leemour Pelli, Catya Plate, Gae Savannah, Diana Shpungin and Nicole Engelmann, Maria Spector, Ginna Triplett, Marina Tsesarskaya, Deborah Wasserman.

Nurture Art, 475 Keap Street, Brooklyn 

September 12-October 19: MARK POWER New Sculpture

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

August 9-September 6: GRACE ROSELLI Drawings

Realform Project Space, 218 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

June 12-August 9: CARTOON

Henry Darger, James Esber, Wayne Gonzales, Ray Johnson, Mark Kostabi, Joan Linder, Bernhard Martin, Takashi Murakami, Tom Sachs, Kenny Scharf, Flavia Souza, Ginna Triplett, Marc Dean Veca, Andy Warhol.

Curated with Charles Riva, Riva Gallery, 529 West 20th Street, New York 

May 17-May 31: CURATORS CHOICE curated with Nicola Jasek

Carla Gannis, Mandy Morrison, Diana Puntar, Jeff Feld, Robyn Jordan

Artists Alliance Inc, 107 Suffolk Street, New York 
 

March 27–April 30: LIMINAL II 

Peggy Bates, Miriam Cabessa, Janice Caswell, Carter Hodgkin, Laura Lobdell, Anna Pedersen, Erwin Redl, Drew Shiflett, Sonita Singwi, Lisa Stefanell

Hampden Gallery, University of Massachusetts in Amherst. 


 

2002

December 21–January 24: SOME (ARE) PAINTING II 

Peggy Bates, Aillinn Brennan, Andrea Champlin, Andrew Chesler, Amanda Church, Elizabeth Cooper, Laura Fayer, Jonathan Feldschuh, Bob Griffin,

Joyce Kim, John Mullen, Anna Pedersen, Lisa Stefanelli, Sarah Trigg

Manny Cantor Center/Educational Alliance, 197 East Broadway, New York 

 

November 15–December 13: ANYWHERE BUT HERE curated with Peter Lasell
Andrea Champlin, Bob Griffin, Pete Lasell, Sharilyn Neidhardt, Mark Power, Katherine Powers, Gae Savannah, Julio Soto, Alexander Reyna

MediaMerge, 450 West 41st Street, New York 

October 26–November 30: SOCIAL SPACE 

Carrie Dashow, Devon Dikeou, Jill Epstein, Matthias Geiger, Tali Hinkis, Joni Lane, Susan Leopold, Mandy Morrison, Coralee Rose, Lizzie Scott, Patricia Smith

Cuchifritos Art Space, 120 Essex Street, New York  

 

October 19–November 30: OPEN VIEW 

Leah Bendahan, Marcy Brafman, Diane Lowy, Sharilyn Neidhardt, Linda Obuschuska.

Artists Alliance Inc, 107 Suffolk Street, New York 

 

October 19-October 20: BODIES AND FORMS 

Amy Chaiklin, Veronica Cross, Elissa Levy, Michael Norkin, Leemour Pelli, Rachel Youens

John Eicher Studio, 68 Jay Street, Brooklyn 

July 11-August 10: EROTIKA curated with Charles Riva
Alicia Ackerman, Jane Benson, Joanna Hoar, Tina La Porta, Tracy Nakayama, Raven Schlossberg, Su-en Wong; Maryse Alberti, Dinos and Jake Chapman, Augusto Canedo, Katrin Fridriks, Margreet Baltius, David La Chapelle, David Levinthal, Warren Neidich, Kiki Seror, Andres Serrano, Tim Sobieski-White, Wulf Treu

Riva Gallery, 529 West 20th Street, New York 

2001

October 13-Novemer 18:  THE BODY OR THE LANDSCAPE

Alicia Ackerman, Sandra Bermudez, Amy Chaiklin, Jeanne Costello, Jennifer DeNike, Laura Emrick, Limor Gasko, Alexis Karl, Lisa Kereszi, Peter Matra, Daniel Mirer, Jennifer Nehrbass, Leemour Pelli, Michele Peress, Grace Roselli, Raven Schlossberg, David Schulz, Cheryl Van Hooven, Carol Warner, Jill Waterman, Suzanne Wimmer

The Artists Alliance Inc, 107 Rivington Street, New York 

September 21–October 13: LIMINAL 
Heike Bartels, Janice Caswell, Laura Lobdell, Christine Perrotta, Erwin Redl, Drew Shiflett

The Space @ Media Triangle, 640 Broadway, New York 

June 18–October 18: SELECTED AFFINITIES 

Marcy Brafman, Amy Chaiklin, Bob Griffin, Dan Levenson, Michael Norkin, Leemour Pelli, Tina Marie Poulin.

Planet Thailand,133 North 7th Street, Brooklyn 

 

June 9–July 21, 2001: SOME (ARE) PAINTING 

Karen Arm, Peggy Bates, Orly Cogan, Elizabeth Cooper, Jonathan Feldschuh, Isolde Kille, Anna Pedersen, Lisa Stefanelli, Rachel Urkowitz

John Gibson Gallery, 568 Broadway, New York 
 

2000

November 17–December 10: SUGAR+SPICE 

Amy Chaiklin, Orly Cogan, Jen DeNike, Carla Gannis, Elissa Levy, Maripol, Norma Markley, Janet Pihlblad, Raven Schlossberg, Carol Warner, Charmaine Wheatley, Jessie Wolk.

The Space @ Media Triangle, 640 Broadway, New York 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

New York, New York